How To Hide Read Receipts On Facebook Messenger

May 19, 2020
GettyImages-1161674620.jpg

Chainarong Prasertthai via Getty Images

Categories: 

If you're anything like me, you opt out of sending read receipts to people so you can have an ounce of privacy. Instagram, Facebook Messenger, and Snapchat have all ruined this for people, and friends of introverts have caught on by choosing to send messages and memes through these platforms to be validated by read receipts. 

I hate this. It needs to stop. 

Unfortunately it's probably not going to stop anytime soon, because I personally believe that the drama behind being left on read is what fuels a lot of younger people to continue using these apps. However, someone discovered a way around sending read receipts on Facebook Messenger...as long as you're using it on a laptop or desktop computer through Google Chrome. 

The Daily Mail shared this hack which essentially involves installing the Google Chrome plugin called "Unseen for Facebook." They say there are others like it that do the same thing, but they are huge fans of "Unseen for Facebook" because of its reviews. 

Using it is as simple as following these steps: 

  1. Go to the Google Chrome web store, logged into your account. 
  2. Search "Unseen for Facebook." 
  3. Download the "Unseen for Facebook" plugin. 
  4. Use Facebook as you normally would. 

I'm a little nervous to try this because I'm protective of what I download and install on my computer. I guess this is supposedly a reputable plugin with rave reviews, so maybe I'd be fine. I also don't use Facebook Messenger anywhere other than my phone, so it doesn't really make any sense. 

How do you avoid talking to people on social media without unplugging completely? I usually prolong opening Facebook Messenger to lower my friends' expectations, so they already know I may quit responding mid-conversation on there. It's not personal, I just don't like Facebook Messenger all that much. I stopped using Snapchat entirely sometime last year, too. On Instagram, if I'm being bothered by spam accounts or people that are trying to get me to join their MLM, I leave it unread and delete the message to clear out the message notification. 

Speaking of Instagram, let's connect! Find me @mollieonair